PrintManila water Company, Inc., (MWCI) is a joint venture among Ayala Corporation, BPI Capital corporation and three (3) foreign companies: namely the United Utilities Pacific Holdings, Mitsubishi Corporation of Japan and the International Finance Corp. (IFC).  The employees of MWCI also hold six percent (6%) shares of the company stocks through its Employees Stocks Option Program or ESOP.

MWCI is one of the two (2) Concessionaires tapped by the government, through a bidding process in 1997, to operate the water utilities in eastern Metro Manila and nearby province of Rizal.  It is tasked to supply water, manage the distribution system and improve and expand the east zone concession area for twenty-five (25) years.

Its franchise area includes Mandaluyong, Marikina, Pasig, Pateros, San Juan, Taguig, Makati and parts of Quezon City and Manila.  It also services AntipoloCity and the Rizal towns of Angono, Baras, Binangonan, Cainta, Cardona, Jala-Jala, Morong, Pillilia, Rodriguez, Tanay, Taytay and San Mateo.

MWCI has seven (7) business areas namely: Balara Business Area, Cubao Business Area, Makati Business Area, Marikina Business Area, Pasig Business Area, San Juan-Mandaluyong Business Area, Taguig-Pateros-Rizal Business Area. (read more…)



Maynilad Water Company Inc (MWSI) is the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System concessionaire for the West Zone, which includes Caloocan, Malabon, Navotas, Valenzuela, parts of Quezon City, parts of Manila, parts of Makati, Pasay, Parañaque, Las Piñas, Muntinlupa, Bacoor, Imus, Kawit, Rosario, Noveleta, CaviteCity.

In 1997, MWSI was previously owned by Benpres Holdings  and Lyonnaise des Eaux (France). In 2006, the concession for the West Zone was rebidded and since January 2007, it is now owned and operated by DMCI-MPIC Water Company, Inc., a joint venture between Metro Pacific Investments Corporation and DMCI Holdings, Inc. (read more…)